h1

I’m middle-aged. You have to listen to me.

March 30, 2008

I used to tell people (still do actually) that I so looked forward to turning 40. I felt that sort of officially marked “middle aged” and that event somehow signaled my arrival at “having lived.”

My philosophy was, “I am middle aged. I am no longer a kid. You can’t dismiss me. I have something to say. You have to listen to me.”

But.

Now.

The older I get (closing in on 50) the more I learn that I have SO much more to learn. And what I have to say is, basically, live a better first half than I have.

Here is what I know:

I am the poor planner that Jesus had to bail out, break out His early miracle and make wine for.

I am Jonah, sulking under a tree.

I am the whore Hosea married and loved deeply.

I am John Mark, changing my mind in the middle of the journey, stuck up for by Barnabas.

I am Martha, trying to do it all, a little jealous of Mary.

I am Jesus’s mom, asking Him to drop what He’s doing to come here.

I am that guy beating his talking donkey to get it to do what the ass knew wasn’t so good for him.

I am middle aged, and you don’t have to listen to me, but if you want to know what NOT to do, give me call.

I'd love to know what you're thinking right now...

