h1

I Killed the Cactus

December 27, 2010

Spike is Gone

 

I confess: I murdered the cactus. Actually, a Madagascar Palm, but I did it. I yanked its four foot shallowly-rooted self out of its clover-ridden pot and threw it in the trash with all of its hundreds of 1-2″ spikes.

While I may have pulled the plug, my husband is the one who caused its slow death: Overwatering for months and leaving it outside to freeze its little top off. I finished it off, but it was the humane (vegemane?) thing to do.

Fairwell, old friend. I’ll miss your little jabs.

I'd love to know what you're thinking right now...

