h1

Stealing My Sister’s Friends

March 9, 2011

I’ve stolen some of my sister’s friends.

Well, not in the sense that she doesn’t have them anymore; I just mean that I would not have known them if it weren’t for her, and I still have never met some of them face-to-face; But yet now they are my friends too, and she’s not in the immediate picture with regard to the new friendships.

I think it’s a new kind of virtual friendship-sharing, facilitated by social networking sites like FaceBook. It means I can actually make meaningful connections with people who I am sure I really want to know, because the people  with whom they already have deep connections already have deep connections with me. (Follow that, and you should follow me on Twitter.)

Said a simpler way: I know and love and trust my best friend and sister; I trust her choices in the friendships she maintains. Therefore I trust that her friends are people I want to know, and those friends give new and exciting relationships that exist differently and separately from my sister’s, yet enrich that sisterly bond. And me.

It’s hard to explain, but it’s real. And it’s cool. And I wouldn’t trade it, and them, for the world.

I love my sister. I love her friends. I love that she’s OK with me ‘stealing’ them.

Life is good.

2 comments

  1. I used to steal my brother’s pizza. But that is wrong. 🙂


  2. I LOVE this post, Amy Sioux, and JUST NOW saw it! LOVE IT! And, that’s the best photo your sis would give up for me? Hon-eeeey….

    So, where’s your big fat “follow” box that posts everyone’s mug on? Well, be sure that I am following your posts, anyway, and I think you are hilarious, and even if I didn’t know your sis and met you you would still be my friend, but I am so glad I know your sister, too, cuz she is a cool friend, and now that you stole me as a friend we can enjoy how cool we all are because we are very cool. And you rock. And everyone should be your friend.



I'd love to know what you're thinking right now...

