h1

121% More Likely to Have a Heart Attack??

April 20, 2011

I logged into work on Monday and found an email from my peer with a link to an article stating that the most dangerous thing you do all day is sit. Sitting all day results in a 54% higher chance of a heart attack. I read the article and immediately passed it to my team.

A few minutes later a team member replied with another link. This one indicating that those who work 11 hours or more a day are 67% more likely to have a heart attack.

Now maybe my math is wrong, but does this mean that for the last four years I’ve been 121% more likely to have a heart attack?? I’ve sat at my computer for up to 11 hour days for years. And for a while there I was putting in some 60-80 hour weeks. This is really scary! You know what’s even scarier? The study on the sitting bit found that sitting is an independent factor—it doesn’t matter how athletic you are the other hours of the day or week!

Read both of these articles, then GET UP! Walk around during conference calls, take frequent stretch breaks, do exercises in your chair or in your office, MOVE!

And stop working at a decent hour. UNPLUG! Go home and kiss your spouse, your kids, your roommate, your dog. After you kiss the dog, take her for a walk. The job will be there tomorrow. It’s not worth a heart attack to sell your soul to the corporation.

Your body will thank you. Your family will thank you. Your dog will thank you.

I am taking my own advice. What are you going to do?

I'd love to know what you're thinking right now...

